“Learning Lisp” Bloggers: Life, Death, and Rebirth with Lisp

There’s yet another Lisp blogger on the scene: Benjamin Meyer. Interestingly enough, he quit Seible’s Practical Common Lisp at just about the same point that I did and he then moved to another text so that he could get exercises to practice on. After reading his first entry where he points out that “developers are no longer reading through books, but just reading what they need online when they need it, but not picking up books that give full overviews,” I was kinda hoping to see him stick to PCL all the way through…. I’m probably a horrible example of the kind of never-finishing-a-book-all-the-way-through thing: I’ve gotten only half way through each of half a dozen Lisp books, myself.

Starting a blog to make public notes on your progress as you attempt to master Lisp is not a new thing. I got stuck with the pseudonym “lispy” because this guy at a “Java School” had already taken the domain name that I wanted. Ah well. That particular blogger only lasted a mere two months before fading into the sunset. His final post included some original code for solving a programming problem and resulted in some helpful comments from Zach Beane.

5 Responses to ““Learning Lisp” Bloggers: Life, Death, and Rebirth with Lisp”

  1. Benjamin Meyer Says:

    I do plan on going back and finishing the book, but I don’t feel like I have the full understanding of what has been presented to match what I am reading. I can continue just reading the chapters, but it will be more difficult and I will no doubt miss things. By going through the first few chapters of ANSI Common and doing problems in the book and online I am getting a firmer grasp of the language and exactly how functions behave, not to to mention the different code style I have to pause and think about. Just the evening I was writing something and I wanted an optional argument for a function. I knew it was possible, but didn’t recall the correct way to do it. Looking it up was a really good way to reenforce it and I am sure that I wont need to look it up again in the future.

  2. lispy Says:

    Sorry to put you on the spot like that. This was supposed to be a “welcome aboard” type post, but after rereading it, it doesn’t seem to be quite as friendly as what I intended….

    Anyways, welcome to the thriving community of novice Lisp-hacking bloggers!

  3. Richard Cook Says:

    I feel your pain. I use blogger, and wanted to call my Lisp blog “In Parentheses”, from the Steven Wright joke. both http://inparentheses.blogspot.com/ and http://inparentheses.blogspot.com/ were taken, AND THEY BOTH HAVE ZERO POSTS.

  4. lispy Says:

    Ironically, the guy who owned that site has contacted me and offered to give it to me! He says he still hacks in Lisp even though he’s quit posting…

  5. Idetrorce Says:

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

Leave a Reply

